Creative Redirection

Sadly to say, there always comes a time when you realize that the path you’re on is not really going anywhere. It’s difficult to put your finger on it, but you come to know that something is just not working. Maybe you’re doing too much, maybe you’re doing too little, but there’s a weak link in your chain and your work is suffering.

This great image is not my work

When that happens, you know it’s time to Step It Up! And the best way to do that is to browse the great work of great artists and breathe in the inspiration. No, you don’t copy their work. You see what can be done, you catch a spark and you find your own new style and look.

This great image is not my work

I want to limit my work to the studio, completely. And make portraits my specialty. Composition will range between tight face shots to just below the belt line. No legs. No knees. No feet. I will favor single subjects (maybe a couple, here or there) but no groups or family sessions.

This great image is not my work

I know. Radical and tightly structured. Maybe too tight, but it’s what I want to do. I have spent time (years?) shooting work that did not inspire or please me. Clicking my camera just for the money. Work that I wasn’t even proud of. “Can you shoot this?” a potential client would ask, and off I went, camera in hand. Never no more.

This great image is not my work

I want to return my images to the artful style I lived for in my crazy, “better get it right” film days, and add to it the ‘anything is possible’ digital times we live, work and play in today. I still need to market myself and my work but I would rather sell my artwork to a limited and very appreciative list of clientele than to push simple pictures to a mass market just wanting something… nice.

This great image is not my work

I have always heard the saying “Do what you love and you’ll never work a day in your life.” I love photography, and now I am going to do it in a way that I love, also. Stay tuned.

Visit my other sites and blogs through My Link Tree Collection

Leave a comment