Spontaneous Photography – Mailboxes

On my way walking back from Firestone, I happened upon this adorable mailbox. I love mailboxes, bridges and flashlights. Don’t ask why, I just do. 

As I took the picture, it led me to think that although it has been a staple of neighborhoods across the country for ages, it is getting very little use these days. As many people have turned to email, text messaging and other forms of electronic communication, the tried-and-true mailbox is getting less and less personal use. As creditors and other bill collectors offer virtual payment due notifications as well as online and mobile payment systems, the mailbox stands basically as a pretty symbol. It has stood the test of time and weathered the storm, but there’s one thing that old-world items cannot stand against: the unbelievable force of the Digital Age. 

The one institution that is taking it squarely on the chin is the U.S. Postal System. The look, feel and thrill of receiving an actual letter, is all but forgotten these days. With Instagram, Tumblr, Twitter and Facebook waving the banner of our everyday lives, few if any people sit down and create an actual letter. However, I personally have one. My dear friend, Katherine, takes the time, effort and love to send me a postcard from wherever in the world she may be, as close as her home in Colorado or as far as her new adventure in Japan. And in that, my love and caring for her is anything but virtual. 

Leave a Reply

